Roadside Ruins (and more!)

I know I’ve been disturbingly absent for a few weeks, but in all honesty I didn’t have much to post. I did notice that my update schedule for the D’ni Proverb of the Week was off, though, and that is unforgivable. To make it up to you, I’ve updated the Playlist and Booklist sections, and added a new site to the Links page. I’m working on a bit of fiction as well, and even though it’s slow going, I enjoy exercising that talent again. Look for it in the coming week(s). Also, I can now present to you the official Roadside Ruins Reborn photoshoot!


This mod was more of a spur-of-the-moment thing than my last, Reachwind Eyrie, but I think it came out great just the same. I got the inspiration from another similar mod of the same area, and I thought it would be fun to both give it my own spin and see what I could accomplish. I built it up on the idea of a simple, no-nonsense forest getaway that didn’t have any unnecessary frills, but which was still fully functional and pleasant to live in.

Keeping with the themes of Old Nordic and forest-campsite was a challenge at times but I think the styles mesh well together. The result is quite rustic, which is amplified by the house being a part of the exterior world-space and therefore experiencing all the ambient times of day and weather patterns. There is an unfixed issue in both Oblivion and Skyrim where rain and snow pass through solid objects outside, so I had to stick with a tent-covered bedding arrangement to give the appearance of keeping the rain off.

The interior courtyard is definitely my favorite place; it was fun to design and is very photogenic. Skyrim’s wonderful shadows play along the floor and walls from the resident pine tree and vine roof, while a small well glitters and the forge sparks in the shadows. The only downside to all the decoration is a performance hit in the game; so much detail in an already-detailed forest slows everything down a few clicks.

I’ve linked the pictures to the mod’s Nexus page in case you’d like to give it a look, which I highly recommend. The location is beautiful and (I think) a nice change from the grandiose houses which seem to be the norm in Skyrim.

I hope you liked this look into my newest mod, I’ll try to update more frequently to keep this page from getting too stale. Don’t forget to keep an eye out for that short story in the near future, it’s shaping up quite nicely and I’m excited to see what it becomes. Until then, enjoy the dog days of summer!

Leave a Comment

