Breath of Autumn

Miles Beyond
The winds of the changing season are blowing through Flagstaff, foreshadowing a winter soon approaching with an early snowfall. The aspens on the Peaks are already bare, and only until I saw their shaded faces did I realize the extent of things – Winter is here to stay. With that in mind I packed up and rushed to Red Mountain before snow and Snowbowl visitors make the road impassable. The day was already far advanced and sunlight flitted through the trees as I drove northward, bound for that place I’ve come to know so well. You, as well, may have heard me describe the hike many times before, and so I’ll keep the travelogue to a minimum. With that in mind, I think every photo was something special (with a couple exceptions), so I’ll give you more of a graphical description which follows my own path in that quiet, mysterious mountain.
Passing TimeBlushing Star
Boiling TideCaught in Motion
Canyon of the StrangeMountain Form


Over and Through
There it Sits
Waiting and WatchingEroding Within


Life in the Curve
Reach High, Little OneEyrie of the Sun
Too soon the evening darkened my path, and so I made my careful way out of the folded stone canyons to begin the walk back through the trees. As more of the sky was revealed I realized the sun had not completely set yet, with the edges of clouds tinted orange and pink, and I knew that I would have just minutes to capture a photo I hadn’t before – The last light of day slipping from the peaks of Arizona’s tallest mountains. And with only one point on the trail with a clear view southeast, my last destination was an obvious one. Luckily, the view did not disappoint.

Last Light of Day


2 thoughts on “Breath of Autumn

  1. VERY beautiful, Cody – I think of you out there as it’s nearing dark and that has to be spooky…Do you carry a GPS right along with you so you don’t get turned around…Very interesting…You must see some awesome sights out there… Good Work, Codes!!!

    From: Face of Stone To: littleshirley546@cox.net Sent: Friday, October 18, 2013 2:04 PM Subject: [New post] Breath of Autumn

    Kohdi posted: ” The winds of the changing season are blowing through Flagstaff, foreshadowing a winter soon approaching with an early snowfall. The aspens on the Peaks are already bare, and only until I saw their shaded faces did I realize the extent of things – Winter”

  2. Nice post. I like the pics. You did an interesting blur on the background of Blushing Star. The tree trunk in Passing Time has some interesting fungi on it too. Boiling Tide almost looks like an elephant face if you look at it the right way. It looks like you had a good time there again. Keep it up! Pops

Leave a Comment

